Ruturaj Gaikwad, the opening batsman for Maharashtra, was at the top of his game against Uttar Pradesh in the current Vijay Hazare Trophy quarterfinal.

Ruturaj Gaikwad blasted seven consecutive sixes in this particular over. His undefeated 220-run performance assisted his team in scoring 330 runs in the allowed fifty overs.

He scored 43 runs off Shiva Singh’s bowling in the last over of the innings, which was the best portion of his knock. The over was won with 43 runs when the fifth ball of the innings turned out to be a no-ball and the free-hit also went for a six.

Ruturaj became the first batter in List-A cricket history to score 42 runs in an over after smashing Shiva Singh for that total.

Since one run resulted from a no-ball, Shiva Singh ultimately gave up 43 runs in the 49th over. Additionally, he broke Rohit Sharma’s record for the most sixes (16) in a single List-A inning.

With the aid of 10 fours and 16 sixes, Ruturaj Gaikwad produced a 220-run knock off just 159 balls. His strike-rate per inning was 138.36.

read more stories